[Ang Lee: A Never-Ending Dream]

February is ending and March is just beginning. Time never seems to stop – but of course, it shouldn’t – what I really meant was how sometimes it just whizzes pass you.

There’s no pause.

It just drags you and you end up lost in its pace.

It’s easy to get lost.

Often, I lose sight of what I want and most of the time, I don’t know what my dreams are anymore. Or maybe, I do but they’ve become an illusion of sandcastles. You know what it is but it’s so transparent that it doesn’t seem like it’ll ever be solid.

Which brings me to this point. For the past few days, I seem to be stumbling upon inspirations, like a sign from a God.

A gentle nudge.

A reminder.

And this is one of it.

This is a reminder to me, and to everyone out there:

“I’ve always believed that you only need one gift. Your gift is making films. There are so many people studying computers already, they don’t need an Ang Lee to do that. If you want that golden statue, you have to commit to the dream.”

What Shih Said

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 11.01.21 PM

Following Ang Lee’s second Best Directing win at the Academy Awards last night, this beautiful essay resurfaced. Here is my translation of Ang Lee’s words, written in 2006 (post-Oscar win). Please credit the translation to Irene Shih (and to this blog), thank you!

In 1978, as I applied to study film at the University of Illinois, my father vehemently objected. He quoted me a statistic: ‘Every year, 50,000 performers compete for 200 available roles on Broadway.’ Against his advice, I boarded a flight to the U.S. This strained our relationship. In the two decades following, we exchanged less than a hundred phrases in conversation.

Some years later, when I graduated film school, I came to comprehend my father’s concern. It was nearly unheard of for a Chinese newcomer to make it in the American film industry. Beginning in 1983, I struggled through six years of agonizing, hopeless uncertainty…

View original post 574 more words

Leave a Reply

